First Degree Murder/Shaken Baby/Abusive Head Trauma Not Guilty
Second Degree Murder Not Guilty
Simple Possession of Marijuana Case Dismissed
Manufacture of Meth Case Dismissed
Rape No Charges
Robbery Case Dismissed
Sale, Manufacture and/or Deliver of Schedule VI Penalty Reduced
2 Counts of Aggravated Assault Case Dismissed
Aggravated Sexual Battery Case Dismissed
Domestic Assault Case Dismissed
Putnam County Assault Attorney
Defense for Assault & Aggravated Assault Charges in Tennessee
Generally, assault involves causing or attempting to cause harm to another person. In Tennessee, the offense is separated into two levels – assault and aggravated assault. Aggravated assault is a higher-level offense, but a charge for either carries severe penalties.
The amount of time you can get for a conviction, the amount of the fine, and any other sanctions the judge deems appropriate depends on the nature of the offense. If you have been criminally charged, one of the first things to do is hire a skilled defense attorney. A lawyer can help challenge the accusations and seek to avoid or minimize penalties.
At The Law Office of Douglas K. Dennis, our Putnam County assault lawyer is here to defend you. We primarily focus on criminal defense matters and purposely take a small number of cases.
This approach allows us to dedicate the time and effort necessary to build and present a solid defense. We are prepared to fight for you in and out of the courtroom, working to protect your rights and seeking an optimal result.
To schedule a free case review, please call us at (931) 486-8823 or contact us online today.
What Is Assault in Tennessee?
The elements of assault are outlined in Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-13-101. It provides that a person can be charged with the crime in three ways.
Conduct constituting assault includes:
- Knowingly, intentionally, or recklessly injuring someone else,
- Intentionally or knowingly making someone fear injury is imminent, or
- Touching someone in a way a reasonable person would consider extremely offensive or provocative.
Note that while it is possible for someone to be charged with assault for hitting another person or making other physical contact with them, causing bodily harm to someone else is not necessary for charges to be imposed. A person can be accused of the offense if they verbally threaten someone and the other individual believes that they are in imminent danger of harm.
At The Law Office of Douglas K. Dennis, we recognize how frightening it can be to face an assault charge. We are committed to standing beside you throughout your case, helping you understand your legal options and the courses your matter can take.
What Is the Penalty for Assault in Tennessee?
Assault is either a Class A misdemeanor or Class B misdemeanor, the level depending on the facts. If the crime involved causing bodily injury or threatening to harm another person, it would be a Class A misdemeanor. It would be a Class B misdemeanor if it involved provocative or offensive touching.
Misdemeanor conviction penalties in Tennessee are as follows:
Class A misdemeanor:
- Up to 11 months, 29 days in jail and/or
- Up to $2,500 in fines
Note that an assault resulting in bodily injury to another carries a maximum fine of $15,000,
Class B misdemeanor:
- Up to 6 months in jail and/or
- Up to $500 in fines
What is Aggravated Assault in TN?
In Tennessee, aggravated assault is a felony. A person may be charged with aggravated assault if they intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly commit an act of assault that results in:
- Severe bodily injury to another person
- Cause the death of another,
- Use or display of a deadly weapon in an act of assault
- Aggravated abuse of a child, or a parent or guardian who knowingly allows the abuse of a child
- Causing physical harm to a public employee or transit system worker, private or public, while they are working
- A person who is named in a restraining order causing or attempt to cause bodily injury to the party with whom they are prohibited contact
Even in severe and complicated matters, our Putnam County assault attorney stands steadfast to protect our clients. Discuss your case with us to learn about defenses that can be raised on your behalf.
What Is the Jail Time for Aggravated Assault?
In Tennessee, aggravated assault is a felony. The conviction penalties depend on the nature of the crime.
Intentionally or knowingly committing aggravated assault, failing to protect a child or adult from aggravated assault, or violating the terms of a restraining order by harming an individual are Class C felonies.
In these cases, the offense is penalized by:
- 3 to 15 years of imprisonment and
- Up to $10,000 in fines
Recklessly committing aggravated assault is a Class D felony.
A conviction can result in:
- 2 to 12 years of imprisonment and/or
- Up to $5,000 in fines
In addition to the penalties listed above, a judge can also impose an additional fine of up to $15,000 and victim restitution.
At The Law Office of Douglas K. Dennis, we have handled thousands of criminal cases and a track record of results, including dismissals, not guilty verdicts, and reduced sentences. Although past victories do not guarantee future results, we are prepared to seek a just outcome on your behalf.
Why You Should Hire an Attorney When Facing Assault Charges in TN
If you are facing assault charges in Tennessee, it is essential to have a criminal defense lawyer in your corner. A criminal defense attorney can navigate the complex legal system and use their experience and knowledge of case law to effectively represent you.
An experienced assault lawyer will be able to explain the various legal options available to you, such as plea deals, motions for dismissal, or even trial strategies that could result in an acquittal. They can build a strong defense strategy on your behalf by gathering evidence, interviewing witnesses and conducting thorough research into all aspects of the case.
Having a skilled attorney at your side could make all the difference when dealing with an assault charge in TN, ensuring that your rights are protected throughout the process. With a criminal defense lawyer fighting for your rights and freedom, you can have peace of mind that your case is being handled with the utmost care, attention and skill.
Schedule a Consultation with a Putnam County Assault Lawyer
An assault charge is serious, but that does not mean the case is hopeless. Defenses may be raised to challenge the accusation. When you contact our firm, we will evaluate the merits of your case and determine a course of action tailored for your situation.
Facing assault charges in TN? We will stand behind you throughout your case. Contact us at (931) 486-8823 today.
The Quality You NeedWhy Hire Us?
Over a Decade of Experience
Exclusive Focus on Criminal Defense
1,000s of Criminal Charges Handled
Personalized One-on-One Representation