Second Degree Murder Not Guilty
First Degree Murder/Shaken Baby/Abusive Head Trauma Not Guilty
Robbery Case Dismissed
Manufacture of Meth Case Dismissed
DUI Case Dismissed
Aggravated Sexual Battery Case Dismissed
DUI Penalty Reduced
DUI Case Dismissed
Domestic Assault Case Dismissed
DUI & Other Criminal Charges Penalties Reduced
Legal Defense for Clients Accused of Violating Tennessee Drug Laws
When it comes to drugs such as narcotics, prescription medicines, and other controlled substances, the state is prepared with a wide range of charges with varying levels of severity.
What are the Penalties for Breaking Drug Laws in TN?
In terms of potential punishment, the least severe drug charge you can get in the state of Tennessee is a simple possession charge.
Class A Misdemeanors - As a class A misdemeanor, simple possession isn’t so simple. This drug charge can land you up to one year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines.
Beyond simple possession charges are those that can result in substantially worse punishment.
Distributing/Manufacturing Drugs - If you are charged with distributing or manufacturing any drug or controlled substance, you could be looking at more severe penalties – all of which can put a mark on your record that can adversely affect your life in many ways.
Contact us online or call our firm at (931) 486-8823 if you or a loved one has been charged with violating Tennessee drug laws in the counties of Wilson, Overton, Cumberland, White, DeKalb, Smith, or Jackson.
How to get a Drug Possession Charge Dismissed in TN
Our legal team has extensive experience with defense strategies that have resulted in charges against our clients being either greatly reduced or dismissed entirely. Improper search and evidence cultivation by law enforcement can be utilized in your defense.
We will thoroughly analyze your case for any instances of your rights being violated, such as:
- Not being read your Miranda Rights
- Not being allowed to have an attorney present while speaking to the police
- Improper search
- Being interrogated after you stated that you wish to remain silent
- Being profiled and targeted because of race, gender, religion or any other discriminatory practices
Is Marijuana Illegal in Tennessee?
Possessing any amount of marijuana for any reason is against the law in Tennessee. While other states may have passed legislation to lift restrictions on marijuana for medical or personal use, possessing or cultivating marijuana for any reason is illegal in Tennessee.
Current Tennessee Drug Laws for Marijuana
- As of 2016, non-violent possession of marijuana is classified as a misdemeanor offense.
- Growing 10 or fewer marijuana plants is considered a felony offense, punishable by 1 to 6 years in prison and a $5,000 fine
- Penalties increase each additional plant over 10
Have you or a loved one been charged with possession of or growing marijuana in Putnam County? Call Law Office of Douglas K. Dennis at (931) 486-8823 or reach out to us online for a free consultation.