DUI & Other Criminal Charges Penalties Reduced
Simple Possession of Marijuana Case Dismissed
Sale, Manufacture and/or Deliver of Schedule VI Penalty Reduced
2 Counts of Aggravated Assault Case Dismissed
Rape No Charges
Second Degree Murder Not Guilty
First Degree Murder/Shaken Baby/Abusive Head Trauma Not Guilty
Robbery Case Dismissed
Manufacture of Meth Case Dismissed
DUI Case Dismissed
What’s at Risk When You’ve Been Accused
Just being accused of a sex crime can be life-changing, but things can get much worse if you’re convicted. Because of the recent rise in national attention directed toward certain sex crimes, extra efforts have been made to define or refine laws that penalize those convicted of crimes such as rape, sexual assault, exploitation of minors, and revenge porn, to name a few. Just as most anywhere else in the country, sex crime convictions in Putnam County and the rest of Tennessee imply the possibility of severe penalties.
If you have been accused of a sex crime, contact our Tennessee Sex Crimes lawyers for a free consultation to discuss your case.
Beyond months of jail, years of prison, and thousands of dollars in fines, fees, and restitution, you may be required to register as a sex offender at the judge’s discretion. Depending upon the circumstances of your case, you may be classified as a non-violent or violent sex offender and will be required to register as such with the Tennessee Sex Offender Registry.
What can being a registered sex offender mean?
- Loss of parental rights
- Restricted housing options
- Loss of employment and employment opportunities
- Mandatory distance of 1,000 feet from schools, public parks, recreation centers, etc.
- 24/7 monitoring via location-tracking devices
Non-violent sex offenders must report their status to their local police or sheriff’s station on an annual basis, while violent sex offenders are required to do so on a quarterly basis. Being convicted of a sex crime can mean registering as a sex offender for life. While it’s possible for non-violent sex offenders to eventually appeal to remove their registration requirement, no such possibility exists for violent sex offenders.
Charged with a Sex Crime? We Can Help
The Law Office of Douglas K. Dennis is prepared to defend clients accused of sex crimes in Putnam County and neighboring counties.
We can build your personalized defense if you’ve been charged with the following and more:
- Sexual assault and battery
- Statutory rape
- Child molestation
- Child rape and sex abuse
- Possession and distribution of child pornography
- Sexual exploitation of minors
- Criminal sexual conduct
- Indecent exposure and lewd conduct
- Solicitation of a prostitute
- Sexual Exploitation of a Minor By Electronic Means
What are Felony Sex Crimes?
In the state of Tennessee many sex crimes are charged as felonies depending on the nature of the crime. Sexual battery (also known as “sexual assault”) is an example of a sex crime charged as a felony. The penalties for sexual battery depend on the circumstances surrounding the crime.
- Aggravated rape: Class A felony punishable by 15 to 60 years in prison and/or a $50,000 fine
- Sexual battery: Class E felony punishable by one to six years in prison and/or a $3,000 fine
- Aggravated sexual battery: Class B felony punishable by eight to 30 years in prison and/or a $25,000 fine
For help fighting your sex-related criminal charge, call us at (931) 486-8823 for a free consultation.
Over a Decade of Experience
Exclusive Focus on Criminal Defense
1,000s of Criminal Charges Handled
Personalized One-on-One Representation
Honest & Straightforward Guidance
Free Initial Case Review